TAGS: Entertainment

IPL Winners List From 2008-2023| Winner Title List

Last updated on: July 17th, 2023 at 10:50 pm Edited by:
IPL Winners List From 2008-2023| Winner Title List

Which Team Has Won the Most Titles? Cricket lovers all over the world are anticipating the start of the 2023 Indian Premier League with great anticipation. The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India. It is organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and features teams representing different cities in India. There is a lot of anticipation in the air as the first matches are scheduled for the final week of March. Ten teams will battle it out for the coveted crown in this year’s IPL, which promises to be an exciting tournament.

We walk you through the trip and list every champion to hoist the trophy since the competition began in 2008 in this post. Looking back on the tournament’s history, the inaugural season took place in 2008, the year after India’s successful T20 World Cup campaign.

In that first season, Rajasthan Royals won the title in the inaugural season after outlasting the Chennai Super Kings in a hard-fought championship match. Since then, the IPL has expanded into a worldwide sensation with millions of viewers tuning in each year. The anticipation for what promises to be an extraordinary season filled with thrilling matches and unforgettable experiences is growing as the 2023 IPL draws closer.

IPL Winners List From 2008 to 2022 

YearWinnerRunner UpVenuePlayer of the matchPlayer of the Series
2022Gujarat TitansRajasthan Royals AhmedabadHardik PandyaJos Buttler
2021Chennai Super KingsKolkata Knight RidersDubaiFaf du PlessisHarshal Patel
2020Mumbai IndiansDelhi CapitalsDubaiTrent BoultJofra Archer
2019Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsHyderabadJasprit BumrahAndre Russell
2018Chennai Super KingsSunrisers HyderabadMumbaiShane WatsonSunil Narine
2017Mumbai IndiansRising Pune SupergiantsHyderabadKrunal PandyaBen Stokes
2016Sunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers BangaloreBangaloreBen CuttingVirat Kohli
2015Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsKolkataRohit SharmaAndre Russell
2014Kolkata Knight RidersKings XI PunjabBangaloreManish PandeyGlenn Maxwell
2013Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsKolkataKieron PollardShane Watson
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennai Super KingsChennaiManvinder BislaSunil Narine
2011Chennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers BangaloreChennaiMurali VijayChris Gayle
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbai IndiansMumbaiKieron PollardSachin Tendulkar
2009Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers BangaloreJohannesburgAnil KumbleAdam Gilchrist
2008Rajasthan RoyalsChennai Super KingsMumbaiYusuf PathanShane Watson

In 2008, the first IPL competition took place. These games were viewed as a special fusion of Bollywood and cricket. The favourites were Kolkatta Knight Riders and Chennai Super Kings, but Rajasthan Royal, captained by the late Shane Warne, won the inaugural IPL Finals. Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, and Kolkata Knight Riders are the teams with the most IPL championships and victories, respectively. Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings, and Royal Challengers Bangalore have never claimed the IPL championship. RCB appears to be the most unfortunate of these three teams as it has advanced to the final three times but has yet to win the title.

Shikhar Dhawan, who has accrued a total of 6,244 runs to date, is the second most productive IPL batsman behind Virat Kohli, who has 6,624 runs to his credit. The most productive bowler in IPL history, Dwayne Bravo of CSK, has taken 183 wickets. The current IPL season will begin on March 31, and the finals will be held on May 29, 2024, for the upcoming season, which is set to begin on March 24, 2024.

Ipl winners list from 2008 2023 captain

IPL TeamTitleTeam Captain
Mumbai Indians5Rohit Sharma
Chennai Super Kings4MS Dhoni
Kolkata Knight Riders2Gautam Gambhir, Eoin Morgan
Royal Challengers Bangalore0Virat Kohli
Delhi Capitals0Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant
Sunrisers Hyderabad2David Warner, Kane Williamson
Rajasthan Royals2Shane Warne, Sanju Samson
Punjab Kings0KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal
Lucknow Super Giants0KL Rahul
Gujarat Titans1Hardik Pandya

As you can see, Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are the most successful teams in the IPL, with 5 and 4 titles respectively. Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni are the most successful captains in the IPL, with 5 and 4 titles respectively.

Teams with Maximum Trophies

Mumbai Indians (MI), who have won the championship an astonishing five times, have established themselves as the most successful team in the tournament’s history. The Chennai Super Kings, who have won the trophy four times and cemented their place as one of the IPL’s most successful franchises, have also been a difficult opponent.

IPL Winner TeamTimesYear
Mumbai Indians5 times2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
Chennai Super Kings4 times2010, 2011, 2018, 2021
Kolkata Knight Riders2 times2012, 2014
Sunrisers Hyderabad1 time2016
Rajasthan Royals1 time2008
Deccan Chargers1 time2009

2022 winner Gujrat Titans 

In their inaugural season of the Indian Premier League, the Gujarat Titans pulled off a spectacular victory that delighted their supporters all over the nation. They shocked everyone by winning the championship with a stunning seven-wicket victory over the Rajasthan Royals in the final.

Join Telegram Group

After losing the toss, the Titans’ captain, Hardik Pandya, directed a potent bowling assault that held the Royals to a modest total of 130 for 9. The Titans’ batsmen, though, were the real stars, with Shubman Gill and David Miller putting up outstanding performances to secure their team’s victory. Gill and Miller both finished the race with an undefeated 45 and 32, bringing their supporters into a frenzy of jubilation.

2022 runner-up Rajasthan Royals 

The outstanding performances of important players like Jos Buttler, who hit 863 runs in 17 innings, the Rajasthan Royals achieved their most prosperous season since 2008 in 2022.
The team’s overhauled bowling attack, which included Buttler, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Trent Boult, and Prasidh Krishna, was also a key factor in their triumph.

When the season was through, Buttler and Chahal led the league in runs scored and wickets taken, respectively, and were instrumental in advancing the Royals to the championship game. Despite their best efforts, the team was defeated by the Gujarat Titans in the championship game, ending what was nonetheless a very spectacular and fulfilling season for them.

TAGS: Entertainment

Suggested Posts

Share this Post: